Old Post I Found

I have always been a man of very few words. I never have much to say about anything. Writing long college research papers were always a daunting task because no matter how much research I did I never had much to say. I started this blog in the hopes that I had finally discovered my voice – music, melody, and words through song. I soon found out that making consistent posts is a lot harder than I thought.

Lately I have been doing a lot of reading and I have stumbled across some pretty interesting ideas and concepts. One of those things was on the power of words. The argument was based on John 1 which says

The Word Became Flesh
“1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was with God in the beginning. 3 Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. 4 In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. 5 The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.”

This passage suggests that Jesus is the Word of God. Through him everything in creation was created. He is our light and he is our life. Therefore, to doubt the power of words is to doubt the power of God and last I checked he is not lacking any power.

I began to consider that maybe the reason I am a man of few words is because I have not listened enough, read enough, and experienced enough. Maybe, in time, through experiences and other things, my few words, might turn into many. Maybe as I seek the Lord earnestly, and immerse myself in the Word of God, the Power of God would begin make itself known in me through words.

On a different note, I stumbled across this post from a few years ago on a blog that I had forgotten that I created. It’s interesting to me that the words that were relevant to me then are still just as relevant to me now. I copied and pasted the post below.

My name is JohnMatthewWillis. I am 20 years old. I am a junior at Ouachita Baptist University where I study Worship Ministry. I believe God gave me a passion for leading his people in worship. Worshiping God brings me joy unexplainable. I also have a passion for writing worship songs. I started out writing songs that were my own personal words of worship to The Lord and words that I would pray through song, but lately I have felt lead to write songs that other people could latch on to. The work of God is evident in my life. It is because of his plan that I am where I am today and the work of the Holy Spirit continues to shape. One word that would describe how I feel is undeserving. I don’t deserve the grace that has been shown through Christ Jesus. God has brought me through a rough past but the beauty of it is that it was a part of his plan. For through the hardships my eyes have been turned on my Creator even more strongly. The hardships highlighted the good times and in the end brought me joy. The hardships ultimately glorified God because of the growth that I underwent. Another word that describes me is blessed. I am undeserving, yet I am blessed beyond measure. WHY? Because I am a child of God.

Leave a Reply

